Posts Tagged ‘6th match’

Dambulla: India succeeded in wining the 6th match of the ‘Sri Lanka Triangular Series’ & qualified for the final. New Zealand batting failed in front of Indian seamers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a shiny & sunny day for cricket, both the captains were full of confidence.

Toss: India won the toss & elected to bat.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss against the New Zealand captain Ross Taylor & selected to bat first.

Indian Innings:

Indian start was definitely not good. The first wicket was down for zero score. After reaching 27 runs, India suffered another shock as Kholi caught out behind the stumps, the umpire raised his finger on the appeal of the Kiwis players, he was not justified but he had to go. After the slow motion camera proved that the decision of the umpire was right.

On the other hand the ‘Danger Man’, Sehwag was on the crease, he played some beautiful strokes.  On the other side every one was going down.

For just 66 runs, 4 were went back to pavilion. Then India captain Dhoni & Sehwag start building a solid partnership but the time of this solid partnership was over. Sehwag goes back after scoring 110 for just 93 balls including 16 fours & 1 six. At this stage, India was on 173 & its 5 men were down.

The frustration also took Dhoni back to the pavilion from crease, as McCullum was the man who caught him out behind stumps & Hopkins was the catcher.  Mr. Dhoni scored valuable 38 runs for 75 balls including 3 fours. India was on 199/6.

After this, the story of India was finished , the tail enders tried there best to keep ticking the scoreboard but Black Caps were in business. Only Jadeja scored 17 of 26 balls with 3 fours.

India innings came to an end at 223/10 in 46.3 overs. (include 22 extras)

New Zealand Innings:

The start of the Kiwis innings was not good as Guptill was gone for duck. This drama continuous as in just 10 overs, 4 were down for 22 runs.

GD Elliot & KS Williamson tried to level-up the score but Wiliamson was in some sort of hurry, at 41 he was dismissed by Sharma for 13 runs on 27 balls with 1 four. After just 1 run Hopkisn was lbw by Patel.  Patel also dismissed Elliott by lbw after just 10 runs. At this stage, 7 players of the New Zealand were gone back to the pavilion after tasting the crease for just 52 runs in 20.5 overs.

At the score of 53, McCullum said Good-Bye & went back to pavilion, he scored 5 runs of 18 balls. On the other hand, Mills was throwing water on the dreams of India, but Southee leaved him at 80/8 after scorring just 10 runs at 5 balls include 1 four & 1 six.

The complete match was now in the hands of India, but the Mills was torturing them, his brilliant sixes were hurting the Indians in the heart & mind.

At last Nehra succeeded in taking him out after scoring 52 runs of just 32 balls with 7 brilliant fours & 3 magnificent sixes.

New Zealand team was out for 118/10 in 30.1 overs. (including 13 extras)

Result: India won the match by 105 runs.

Man Of The Match: Virender Sehwag was awarded the Man of the Match award.

Next ==> India is in final with Sri Lanka, the final will be played on August 28, 2010 in Dambulla at 14:30 {Local, India}, 09:00 {GMT}, 12:00 {KSAST}, 14:00 {PST}

Dambulla: Today India & New Zealand will be face each other in the 6th match of the Tri-Series in Sri Lanka. India won the toss & elected to bat.

Mahendara Singh Dhoni won the toss & elected to bat first. Both teams will try to qualify the final against Sri Lanka. The collapse of the bowling & batting of Indian team enlighten the chances of New Zealand to qualify the final. Several cricket viewers are saying that the Asian champion India will not be able to win the tri-series.

New Zealand’s inexperienced batting line-up remains their biggest concern. The relaxed format of the tournament and the unseasonal rain which washed out their match against Sri Lanka means their batsmen have, amazingly, not had a bat in the middle for a dozen days, which the captain Ross Taylor said is “going to give a little more anxiety than the actual game itself.”

Changes: Munaf Patel comes in for Pragyan Ojha while Virat Kohli replaces Rohit Sharma. The bad news for New Zealand is that Jacob Oram is out with injury, he is in fact headed back home.

Useful Information:

6th Match: India v New Zealand
Location: Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla
Date: August 25, 2010
Time: 14:30 (Local), 09:00 (GMT), 12:00 (KSAST), 14:00 (PST), 14:30 (IST)